~ Avocados and Marinated Chicken ~

I managed a bit of baking this weekend… Mum bought and shipped over Tori Haschka’s new book, “Cut the Carbs!” for me – what a treat. I flicked straight to the puddings and conjured up a lovely chocolate cake whose main component was a tin of black beans (no flour, no butter). Aside from me leaving it in the oven for about 5 minutes too long – a real error for chocolate cake which is always prone to being a bit dry anyway – it was absolutely delicious and didn’t taste any different to a regular cake. I should have taken a picture to blog, but in typical Kirsty style, I hadn’t really left myself enough time to bake it before taking it round to the recipient’s house. Next time.

Other tasty treats this weekend included mostly grilled protein and salads – the avocados in the shops are just fantastic at the moment so they’re on the side of everything I make! Here’s Mike cooking the chicken he marinaded in cumin, turmeric, fresh ginger, chilli, garlic and olive oil… Fantastic with salad, crumbly feta and a cold glass of Sauvignon.

Grilling in the last of the sun!

Grilling in the last of the sun!

Leave a Reply

